By John Bowker


The 2015 Annual Meeting of the Community Association was held on January 7.  This well-attended event provided the opportunity to thank many volunteers for their accomplishments and to introduce new members of the CA Board of Directors. Association President Jane Keegan opened the program with a brief statement and then called a number of CA members in the audience forward to receive enthusiastic applause and to be presented with certificates of sincere appreciation.


SCC - feature - better board pic - 2015 CA Board

The new Board of Directors was officially installed at the 2015 Annual Membership Meeting. Seated, left to right, Neil Rothfeld, Treasurer; Sam Sudman, Vice President; David Floyd, President; Joe Elam, Secretary. Standing, left to right, Helen Lewis, Ed Feder, Chuck Collett, Mike Killian and Richard Angerosa.


The first group included those who worked with the Hillsborough County Neighborhood Relations Department, the Elegant Gardeners Club and nine HOA’s in town to plan and install some 2,000 Florida Friendly plants in the median strip of North Pebble Beach Blvd. just in front of the CA Office area.  For this effort, Sun City Center was awarded the Community Waterwise Award by the Board of County Commissioners for 2014.  The planning group included Ed Barnes, John Luper, Ron Pelton, John Jackson and Teri Brockway.


The CA Board commended Nan Baytos and Maggie Pliska for their continuing decorations of the Central and South Campus areas and for their joint effort in keeping the CA Website up to date.  Roy and Helen Skinner were applauded for their support and administration of the Monday movies. Dave and Nancy Birkett received the community’s thanks for organizing and running the annual Golf Cart Parade each December for the past three years!


Bill & Phyllis Hodges

Bill & Phyllis Hodges

Bill and Phyllis Hodges accepted the board’s thanks for their ongoing efforts to provide fresh and meaningful slide shows on the TV Monitor in the Atrium Building describing the lifestyle of Sun City Center.  Jim Cox and Dennis Hilaire, received commendation for their years of  managing the Recreational Vehicle Park.Shelba Fields has headed the Election Committee with close support from Barbara Rein for the past two years. Karen Jones, who stepped down as Editor in Chief of The News of Sun City Center in September after a five-year stint, was applauded for her significant contributions to the publication.


Lyn Reitz and Jane Keegan

Lyn Reitz and Jane Keegan

Community Manager Lyn Reitz spoke on the status of all the construction that was nearing completion in the Central Campus area. She spoke confidently that all the parking lots that had been closed back in May, 2014, would be opened within a week and, once the applause quieted, she went on to announce a “Shredding Day” for CA members to be held the morning of March 10 starting at 9 am. The location will be at the far end of the North Pebble Beach parking lot so automobile access and egress will be open for those wishing to pull through and just leaving their box or bag of documents to be destroyed with our attendant there.


President Keegan then recognized departing directors Al Alderman and Howie Griffin with plaques of appreciation for their accomplishments on the CA Board.  Jane then swore in the three new directors for the CA Board, Richard Angerosa, Ed Feder and Joe Elam, before stepping down herself having completed four years as a director.

Our new CA President, David Floyd, then stepped to the microphone to award a plaque and to thank Jane Keegan for her years of service to the community.  David said his primary goal for 2015 is to improve communications among the CA Board members and with the membership.  The meeting ended with a number of comments from the audience that David assured would come to the attention of the new board.